The End

As I laid the firewood down, the farmer thanked me.

‘Fox’, he said, ‘I cannot repay you for everything you’ve done. I am poor, and all I have are these carrots, but you may take as many of them as you wish.’

I cannot eat carrots, but I know my good friend Rabbit does. There are mountains of carrots, more than you can ever hope to eat. Will you come with me tomorrow?

The rabbit listened, but he knew the fox was cunning and deceitful.

“No, Fox,” the rabbit said, “You have fooled me twice already. I know your ways, and I am blind no longer.”

The rabbit pulled the lever he had hidden in the wall. The ground opened under the fox, and he fell into a pot of boiling water, never to trouble anyone again.

And the rabbit lived happily ever after.

I closed the book. Julie was silent, drawing the slow breaths of deep slumber. I reached over and turned out the light. For a while, I simply sat, watching her.

I heard a creak behind me.

I turned, and there crouched a man in black clothes. He froze when he saw that I had noticed him. He was wearing a black mask — well, it may not have been black, because the lights were off and it was quite dark, but it was some kind of dark colour, maybe blue or brown but you get my meaning — and he was carrying a knife.

I screamed, Julie screamed, and the man fled. I ran after him, grabbing the golf club that I keep in the hallway. I was catching up to him, and he must have panicked because he tripped and fell, hard.

Knowing I was about to catch up to him, the man got desperate, and from his pocket he pulled out a bazooka-

“Wait a moment.” The cop held up his hand, disbelief written all over his face. “A bazooka? Seriously? Don’t fool around. A police report is serious business.”

“What do you mean? Of course I’m serious!”

“A bazooka, taken out from his pocket.”

“Yes.”

“How big was the bazooka?”

“Uh, about thirty centimetres.”

“Long?”

“No, thick. The length was, ah, about two metres.”

“…I’m going to write you up for obstruction of justice.”

The judge pressed a button, and the recording stopped. I held my face in my hands.

“In my defence, Your Honour, I was drunk.”

The judge sighed. “Enough. We will convene again in fifteen minutes.” He tapped his gavel.

That was when I thought, I want to go one layer deeper! But how?

Leave a Reply

